US Commission on Civil Rights appoints SD SAC members

The US Commission on Civil Rights has appointed 14 South Dakota citizens to its South Dakota State Advisory Committee (SAC).

Martin Castro, chairman of the US Commission on Civil Rights, announced the appointment of Charles T. Abourezk of Rapid City, Melanie K. Bliss of Sioux Falls, Richard M. Braunsten of Vermillion, Marcia N. Bunger of Spencer, Joni M. Cutler of Sioux Falls, Scott D. German of Peever, Chris Hupke of Sioux Falls, Arlouine G. Kingman of Rapid City, Mike J. Levsen of Aberdeen, Cassandra L. McKeown of Vermillion, Anthony D. Molina of Vermillion, Renee B. Olson of Waubay, Ira W. Taken Alive of Rapid City and Sheila S. Woodward of Yankton.

Commissioners appointed Richard M. Braunstein as chairman. Members are appointed for two-year terms and serve without compensation.

Congress has directed the commission to establish advisory committees in all states and the District of Columbia to assist in its fact-finding function. These committees receive reports, suggestions and recommendations from individuals, public and private organizations, and public officials, and forward advice and recommendations to the commission.

Members of state advisory committees conduct civil rights reviews and studies and report their findings to the commission.

Tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>