Leber selected Superintendent of the Year

At the recent annual conference held July 16 of the South Dakota State Superintendents Association (SDSSA), the group selected Al Leber of the Dakota Valley School District of North Sioux City as its Superintendent of the Year.  Leber has 39 years experience in administration and has been the superintendent at Dakota Valley since 1999. He is a former high school principal of Vermillion High School.

Selected for the Distinguished Service Award was Margo Heinert of Mission.  Heinert retired from the Todd County School District in June of 2012.  She worked in the Department of Education for nine years and spent 13 years as a superintendent in Shannon County and Todd County.

Also during the conference, the following officers were elected:  President Bob Sittig (Baltic); President-elect Dan Leikvold (Lead/Deadwood); Past President Jim Holbeck (Harrisburg); Treasurer Lynn Vlasman (Tripp/Delmont); Secretary Robert Arend (Garretson); and Regional Representatives:  Jeff Danielsen (West Central); Jason Bailey (Bridgewater/Emery); Kelly Glodt (Pierre); Scott Lepke (Custer); Kirk Easton (Warner); Brian Heupel (Clark); and Chris Lund (Arlington).

Tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>