Disaster declaration approved for June storms, tornadoes, flooding

Gov. Dennis Daugaard announced this week that seven South Dakota counties will receive federal financial help to recover from a late-June weather pattern that produced severe storms with tornadoes, strong straight-line winds and flooding.

The public assistance is made available through a Presidential Disaster Declaration signed Friday by President Obama.

Preliminary estimates showed more than $1.7 million in damages to public and private nonprofit property. Costs included debris removal and repairs to roads, bridges, culverts and electrical power lines.

“The late-June weather pattern was the third powerful storm system in as many months to impact our state,’’ said Kristi Turman, director of the Department of Public Safety’s Office of Emergency Management. “The federal assistance that accompanies the presidential declaration will help our communities recover as quickly as possible from this latest series of storms.’’

An ice and snowstorm in April and a severe weather pattern in late May resulted in presidential disaster declarations.

Counties eligible for assistance through the latest presidential declaration are Beadle, Codington, Deuel, Grant, Hamlin, Hughes and Kingsbury. A disaster declaration authorizes the federal government to provide recovery assistance for up to 75 percent of the eligible costs.

Tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>